Names on the Marriage License

On my parents’ application for marriage license (left) my mother’s name (Julitta) is spelled Joy.  My father’s surname (Schwans) is spelled Swans.  Was this done intentionally?  My parents were married in 1939, a year before they told anyone.

One reason for the secrecy is that my mother was working for the Works Progress Administration and would have lost her job as a married person.  Another factor may have been that my mother was Catholic and my dad was not.  But they were married for over 47 years before my father passed away.  I guess a little misspelling was not a legal complication!

Names on the marriage certificate (below) are spelled correctly.

Certificate of marriage

About maryjlohr

Avid genealogist.
This entry was posted in ancestry, Genealogy, Memories, Schwans Genealogy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

