A Beloved Person Remembered

He was born the last of seven children, the son of Fred and Jeanette (Sievers) Schwans on a farm near Bridgewater, South Dakota. His given name was Arthur William, but from infancy he was called Tom. His tombstone is inscribed A.W. “Tom” Schwans.

He taught me the ride home is always shorter than the ride to the destination, that puns and word play are great humor, that money will not buy happiness, that family and friends matter, and that religion is a very important part of life.

He passed away in 1986, just prior to Christmas. As the family gathered at that time, I commented that Christmas would always be a sad time without him. But a wiser, older brother said, “Yes, but he’ll always be remembered at Christmas time.”

And, I’ve found that to be a consoling remark in each of the past 24 Christmas seasons we’ve celebrated without him.   May he rest in peace.

About maryjlohr

Avid genealogist.
This entry was posted in Memories, Schwans Genealogy, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Beloved Person Remembered

  1. Mary Ann Black says:

    He was a wise man!!

  2. Pat says:

    What a lovely tribute to the man who was/is my dad. I thought of him as I awoke this morning remembering the anniversary of his death. I still miss him.

  3. Tom Schwans says:

    I recently met with members of the SDSU theatre program and discussed working there with them. In one of my initial meetings, the chair of the program said, “I don’t mean to be out of line, but I knew a Tom Schwans. He was the custodian when I was in high school. He was so witty and funny; we all loved him.” I took great pride in telling him that he was/is my grandfather and namesake. I am constantly reminded of how he effected other people’s lives. Even as the custodian, Tom Schwans was a positive influence that was strong enough to be remembered over 40 years later. High School was not so long ago for me, but I am hard pressed to remember many teachers like this man remembered my grandfather.

Leave a Reply

