Memories of 57319

Home for me growing up was Bridgewater, South Dakota. However, I left shortly after graduation from high school in 1965, never to officially live there again. I have few regrets about my childhood but do wish I’d taken more photographs of the following:

The house my family lived in from 1953-1965 (a different house now sets on the site)
St. Stephen’s Catholic Grade School
The wooden framed St. Stephen’s Church
The “old” Bridgewater High School

All of the above have been razed. Time marches on and the memories fade. Maybe we do get smarter as we get older, but as the sign in Park Cafe on Main Street Bridgewater said: “If you’re so smart, why aren’t you rich?”

Does being rich in memories count?

About maryjlohr

Avid genealogist.
This entry was posted in Humor, Memories, Schwans Genealogy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memories of 57319

  1. I, too, have a list of images in my head of photos I wish I had taken. Photos of places that have been greatly altered if not completely razed. Photos of people who are no longer with us. Photos of the past, changed only by time. I think being rich in memories counts a lot.

Leave a Reply

