Thoughts of Spring

Ah, spring! My very favorite time of year. Longer hours of daylight, milder weather, and new growth … what’s not to like?

Coupled with spring, for many Christian religions, is the forty-day penitential season of Lent, a preparation for Easter. When we were growing up, my younger sister and I would “give up” candy and other treats . (Talk about penance for a die-hard chocolate fanatic like myself!)

But it wasn’t a whole forty consecutive days without chocolate, since Sundays were not a day of “fasting.”  Taking advantage of this weekly reprieve, I would set my alarm clock for 12:05 a.m., and when it sounded, promptly reach for the Walnut Crush chocolate candy bar stashed neatly by the bedside.  I think occasionally my sister, Pat, joined me in this midnight madness.

In retrospect, I do think that treasured piece of chocolate tasted darned good at that time of the night.  My love for chocolate still persists, but I no longer set the alarm for a midnight rendezvous with chocolate.

About maryjlohr

Avid genealogist.
This entry was posted in Humor, Memories, Schwans Genealogy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts of Spring

  1. Pat says:

    Great memories, Mary.

Leave a Reply

