Memorial Day Thoughts of John H. Schaefers

This Memorial Day weekend marks the 51st anniversary of the death of my grandfather, John H. Schaefers.  In the photo at the left he is playing his violin (or, “fiddle” as he called it) as my mother, Julitta, looks on from her high chair.

My grandfather drove a 1949 maroon Crysler–fast!  In the days before seat belts, riding with him was an experience.

Fortieth wedding anniversary photo of John H. (1892-1960) and Leona Schaefers (1897-1985).

My grandfather was a sentimental person and very fond of my grandmother.  He would pick wildflowers and bring them to her.

About maryjlohr

Avid genealogist.
This entry was posted in ancestry, Schaefers Genealogy, South Dakota. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memorial Day Thoughts of John H. Schaefers

  1. Pat says:

    Mary, I was just thinking about our Grandpa Schaefers and then I came here to your blog. Amazing. Your post was very timely and I have such fond memories of our maternal grandparents and the farm that you rekindled.

Leave a Reply

